Welcome to the City of Watervliet NY

Mayor's Office

Mayor Mike Manning

Mayor Mike Manning

Hon. Mike Manning, Mayor
Phone: 518-270-3815
Email: mmanning@watervliet.com

Christine Chartrand, Secretary to the Mayor
Phone: 518-270-3815
Email: cchartrand@watervliet.com

City Hall
2 Fifteenth Street
Watervliet, NY 12189

The Mayor is Chief Executive Officer of the City of Watervliet and presides over the Watervliet City Council. The Mayor is elected every four years and the position is part time.


Mayor Manning is in his second term as Mayor of Watervliet.

Mike received his B.S. and M.S. in Materials Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute where he played Division III football for four years. In addition to his earned degrees, Mike has completed graduate course work in pursuit of Masters of Business Administration and NYS Teaching Certificate.

He has held various engineering and project management positions at General Motors, Allied Signal and General Electric where he spent 13 years. During that same period, he served eight years as an officer in the U.S. Naval Reserve Construction Battalion (aka SeaBees) rounding out his experience in project and personnel management. Before returning to General Electric, he held director level positions in quality and operations at MTI Microfuel Cells and Lean Flame, Inc.

Currently, Mike is a Principal Engineer for GE Power & Water in Schenectady with technical responsibility for rotating parts supply chain.

Mike and his wife (Erin) were born and raised in Watervliet and are raising their three children (Makenzie, Ryan, Seamus) here. Mike has been involved in community in several aspects, but most notably as a member of Watervliet High School Football staff for over 20 years including NYS championships in 1990, 1991 and 1996.

Previous Mayors of the City of Watervliet:

1897 to 1900 Michael J. Day
1901 to 1904 Abram Hilton
1905 to 1908 Daniel P. Quinn
1909 to 1912 Dr. Eugene Hanratta
1913 to 1915 Edwin Joslin
1916 to 1917 Edward J. Foley
1918 to 1919 Edwin Joslin
1920 to 1923 Michael Walsh
1924 to 1931 George Halpin
1932 to 1946 James F. Donlon
1946 to 1967 Hugh Donnelly
1968 to 1973 James Cavanaugh
1973 to 1996 J. Leo O'Brien
1996 to 2007 Robert D. Carlson