Welcome to the website for the City of Watervliet, New York!

Home Fire Department/EMS

Fire Department/EMS

The Thomas M. McCormack
Fire Headquarters

116 13th Street
Watervliet, New York 12189

For Emergencies:
Dial 9-1-1

FD_Sticker_sMission Statement
The mission of the City of Watervliet Fire Department is to minimize the hazards of fire through fire prevention education.
It is also the mission to deliver professional response to the Citizens needs for fire suppression, all emergency medical needs and hazardous material spill mitigation.

List of Services Provided by the Department

  • Fire Suppression and Control
  • Fire Prevention and Public Relations
  • Fire Investigation
  • Hazardous Material Incident Response
  • Emergency Medical Service Response (EMT and PARAMEDIC)
  • Emergency Transportation
  • Natural Gas, Carbon Monoxide and Electrical Emergency Response
  • Emergency Rescue Response
  • Mutual Aid to Neighboring Communities
  • Non Emergency Service for Public Assistance

The Watervliet Fire Investigation Task Force was created in 1991 and is a synergy between the Watervliet Fire Department and Watervliet Police Department. The team is comprised of three Fire Officers and two Police Investigators. All members of the Task Force are certified by the New York State Office of Fire Prevention and are all graduates of the Arson Investigation Academy at Montour Falls, New York. During 1995 there were five arson case investigations and there was one arson arrest. Any inquiries regarding the Fire Investigation Task Force should be forwarded to Fire Chief Scott Skinner.

Fire Department Organization and Operations

The Watervliet Fire Department is the Fire and Emergency Services branch of the City of Watervliet municipal government and has been housed in The Thomas M. McCormack Fire Headquarters on 2nd Avenue and 13th Street in the City since 1970. The Department consists, currently, of twenty-fourfull time professional firefighters. The Department operates under a four platoon system. The on duty work schedule is a twenty-four hour shift.

The Fire Department is National Incident Management System (NIMS) compliant. The Incident Command System (ICS) is a coordinated effort that brings together the major elements of an operation - specifically, command, operations, planning, and logistics under a unified command. The ICS is the backbone of Emergency Services response in the City of Watervliet.

The first alarm response consists of one engine, a light rescue unit, and an aerial tower manned by platoon members on duty. Greater alarms are responded to by recall of off duty personnel via the Departments page/radio monitoring system and additional mutual aid or special call response. Emergency Medical certifications are held by all members of the firefighter staff. The EMS program is overseen by a medical doctor and Firefighter Tom Corcoran.

The Table of Organization for the Fire Department begins with the Mayor as the Chief Elected Officer. He has the responsibility to order or declare a "State of Emergency" as prescribed under New York State and Albany County Disaster Control Programs. The General Manager is the Commissioner of Public Safety and is ultimately responsible for all emergency operation of the Fire and Police Departments. The Fire Chief is the ranking officer and chief administrator of the day to day operations of the Fire Department. Ranking below the Fire Chief are Battalion Chiefs, Captains, Lieutenants and Firefighters.

Department Roster

1st Platoon
Captain/Medic – John Mazzariello
Lieutenant/Medic - Jim Chartrand
Firefighter – Dom Fruscio
Firefighter – Eric Panichi
Firefighter/Medic - Tom Corcoran
Firefighter - Ryan Boisvert

2nd Platoon
Captain/Medic – Tom Eagan
Lieutenant/Medic - Ed Rolfe
Firefighter – Scott Ellis
Firefighter/Medic - Jim Strock
Firefighter - Joe Fronczek.
Firefighter- Tim Delisle

3rd Platoon
Captain/Medic – Rob Conlen
Lieutenant – Scott Rentz
Firefighter/Medic – Dave Stutz
Firefighter/Medic - Chris Holland
Firefighter/Medic - Bill VanPatten
Firefighter - Pat McGrouty

4th Platoon
Battalion Chief – Bob Remillard
Captain – Jim Halpin
Firefighter/Medic – Jody Legault
Firefighter – Rick Razzano
Firefighter/Medic - Dan Chiera
Firefighter - Paul Kowalski