City Council

The Watervliet City Council is comprised of the Mayor and two Council persons elected-at-large for overlapping four year terms. Council positions are part time and duties and responsibilities are outlined in the City Charter.

The City Council is the Legislative, appropriating, governing and policy determining body of City government. They approve all budgets and set various policies for all City departments.

The City Council meets on the first and third Thursday of every month at the Watervliet Senior Citizen Center at 6 pm.